“You enter the forest at the darkest point, where there is no path. Where there is a way or a path, it is someone else’s path. You are not on your own path. If you follow someone else’s way, you are not going to realize your potential.” ~ Joseph Campbell from A Joseph Campbell Companion

This is my life lesson for the week: to accept the path I’m on, which appears to be winding aimlessly through the thick of the forest, where lions and tigers and bears abound.  Oh my!  I must not waste time and valuable energy wishing I were on somebody else’s path.  This is not so easy.  There are a number of other paths that appeal to me just now:

1.  The Traveler Path: On Facebook, I’ve been watching friends who are cavorting on beaches in Hawaii, or traveling in various and sundry other warm climates.  They appear light hearted and frolicsome, unworried about finances, certainly not suffering pangs of guilt about the writing they are not doing while they lie on the beach.

2.  The About to be Published Path: You know who you are!  Not to mention any names, but Silver James and Gary Corby, are definitely on their way! And my already published friend Trudy has recently had yet another book accepted by a publisher. 

3.  The Attracting A Lot of Attention From Agents Path:  Em, I see you over there! 

4.  The Choose a Plan and Stick With it Path:  The master of this one would be Ken Kiser

I’m not even going to talk about the already published and hugely successful: that is a path best left unconsidered, if I value my serenity.  Now, if I’ve mentioned your name, I’m not jealous of you.  Really I’m not.  I’m delighted at your success.  And there is a lot of pleasant scenery and adventure on the path I’m traveling, so all is good.  Really.

The lady doth protest too much methinks.  

Okay, so I’m just a teensy tiny bit envious, but not in a bad way, or a mean spirited way.  It’s really more my competitive streak popping up, spurring me on.  Which in itself might be a bad thing.  I’m realizing that Swimming North cannot be rushed.  And shouldn’t be.  I just need to hang out with it for awhile, thus the meandering path.  I can, however, work as fast as I want on re-typing the YA Fantasy, so my plan, at least for today, is to put the energy that wants to get something done onto the Fantasy novel,  and not rush the novel that doesn’t want to be rushed.  And, of course, to consider the frightening plunge of tearing apart Remember one last time for another structural revision.

To all of you out there, no matter what path you are on, may your muse be kindly and the words come easy.