Not so very long ago I blogged here about commitment, about choosing a WIP and staying with it for better or worse, richer or poorer.

Um, yeah. About that.

The relationship wasn’t working. I tried, I really did. I deleted characters, scenarios, and plot points, and added new ones.  I stopped and took a break. I started over. The WIP and I had date nights. We discussed our issues. I tried this premise and that premise and I found myself doing anything but write.

Obviously it was a discipline problem, right? So I forced myself to write. 500 words a day. That’s all. Easy. Usually I can spew out 500 words in 15 minutes. Usually once I’ve gotten started, I want to keep writing.

Nope. Not this time.

And so I’m considering the possibility that this WIP and I were not meant to be. Sometimes that happens. Sometimes it’s better to cut your losses and move on. Now, I’m not saying it’s over for keeps. I’m suggesting that we see other people, try other things. Maybe when we’re both older and wiser, we can try again.

I’ve got to confess that I already have a new love. In fact, to be perfectly honest, the new WIP and I were having an illicit affair even before I finished Swimming North. The good news about this is that when I sit down to write, the words and ideas fall all over each other trying to get onto the page.

Maybe it will last. Maybe it won’t.

We’re taking it one day at a time.

