In my last post, I carelessly made a comment about posting goals here on Monday, “God willin’ and the creek don’t rise.”  The creek has risen, and it’s that particular creek whose name begins with an S and ends in a T and I don’t happen to have a paddle.

Last week, my wonderful friend and mentor, a brilliant and creative individual who inspired my current WIP, lost his battle with life for once and all.  I need to sit with this loss for awhile before I’ll be doing much writing.  As he would have said, “I’m amazed you’re still speaking in complete sentences.”  Well, I might be speaking them, but I’m having a hard time writing them.  My brain is in a fuzzy state of suspended animation.  And working on the book that is so full of his ideas is more than I can handle just yet.

I’m choosing to actively grieve: to spend extra time with my partner and my sons, and read escapist fantasy, and just sit with a reality I really don’t want to face.  Not sure how long this is going to take me, but I thought I owed it to those of you who are working on goals with me to know where I’m at and what I’m doing if I don’t show up here to blog.

Keep your fingers limber and your muses happy, and may your words and ideas be inspired.

I’ll be back in a couple of days.

