Well.  I did it.  I posted Remember in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest.

Will I win it?  I doubt that.  It’s a decent novel, I believe, but not likely to top the expected 10,000 entries.  So why, you might ask, did I choose to spend the better part of a sunny day off crafting a pitch and a summary and going through the submission process?

I blame my friend Trudy , and Twitter, not necessarily in that order.  I read about the contest on Twitter, and then brought it up aimlessly this morning while chatting with Trudy online.  The conversation went something like this:

TrudyJ: you should enter

Me: it’s a lot of work and I’ll never win.

TrudyJ: you should do it.

Me: Sort of a waste of a good day off, I think.

TrudyJ: But it’s only one day.  What have you got to lose?

And there it is, in a nutshell.  Nothing to lose, and a great deal to gain.  I may never even make the finalists, but I did put the manuscript out there and risk failing at something other than query letters.  I also have, as a reward for my labors, a shiny new query letter that is better than the old one.  And for today I am filled with a pleasant sense of having faced a fear and conquered.  (We won’t talk about how I will feel if I don’t even make the Quarter Finals.  That’s way ahead in the dim and misty future.)

If you haven’t thought about this contest, you still have time – deadline is 10,000 entries or February 8, whichever comes first.  Hey, the more the merrier.  Give it a shot.  And if not this, I challenge you to do one thing today or tomorrow to step outside your current comfort zone, and then share it with the rest of us.  Come on – everybody out of the pool. Adventure awaits.

