“It is necessary, then, to cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you; and to give thanks continuously. And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude.” (Wattles)

I’m guessing I’m not the only one, although it’s possible.  Anybody else struggling with mid-Nanowrimo resentments?  You know – for all of the writing distractions and interruptions, your co-workers, your job, your kids, your pets – all of the entities that suck your creative energy and pull your time away from working on the all important novel?  Even the things you love, the things that give you life, the things that support and nourish you.  Like meals, for example.  And love.  

I’m recognizing the trend in myself, and it ain’t pretty.  It’s amazing what I can get resentful about, once I let myself get started.  The antidote is, pure and simply, gratitude.  Let me say that a better way:  GRATITUDE – the capital letter variety.  Now, parts of this process are fairly simple.  I can sit down and make a list of things that give me pleasure:

Good hot coffee, first thing in the morning

Sunshine

Purring cat

Hugs

You know – those sorts of things.  The quote of the day, however, suggests taking that one step further.  Practicing gratitude when the cat insists on sleeping on my new laser printer, knocks things down and shreds them, for example.  Being grateful for the challenges of my job and my current feeling of being overwhelmed. Somehow finding the energy to be grateful for the midnight phone call that drags me out of bed into a cold car and down to the local ER.  Or for the rejection letters that just keep on coming…  For the omnipresent clouds and threatening rain.  For the many forces at work pulling me away from time and energy to write.

You can see that I have some work to do, to pull all of these elements into gratitude.  I’m working on it, though.  

One more quote, and then I’m off to deal with the exigencies of the day, which might include adding to my word count if I get my act together:

“When we get out of the glass bottles of our ego,

and when we escape like squirrels turning in the cages of our personality

and get into the forests again,

we shall shiver with cold and fright

but things will happen to us

so that we don’t know ourselves.

Cool, unlying life will rush in,

and passion will make our bodies taut with power,

we shall stamp our feet with new power

and old things will fall down,

we shall laugh, and institutions will curl up like burnt paper.

(D.H. Lawrence)

So there you have it.  I’m off to “stamp my feet with new power.”   I’ll let you know if any institutions curl up like burnt paper!  That would be great writing material.  Happy writing everybody – never, ever give up.

