Premise:  If the best laid plans of mice and men gang aft agley, then if you never make any plans, the agley thing can’t happen.  In case it isn’t obvious yet, I did not make my goal for the weekend.  In fact, I never even got around to an accurate word count, although my best estimate is around 800 words.  My dark chocolate still is sitting in the drawer where I stashed it, calling my name.

Looking back, I think I remember moments where I could have snuck in some more writing,  although the weekend is mostly a muddled blur and I don’t remember when exactly they were.  And the words I did come up with are lifeless, heavy, millstone around my neck words that will probably be discarded.  

I’d like to be discouraged tonight, to beat up on my writer and call it names, but I think I’ll opt for a little self compassion instead.  It was a difficult weekend; today was a difficult day.  I know there are more words and ideas floating around out there than I could ever dream of putting onto paper.  Perfection is not required.  A logical, sequential, beautifully written first draft is not required.  All that is needed is the willingness to keep on getting those words down where I can have a look at them.  I am choosing to trust my writing, even when it’s looking bleak, to keep on creating in the face of my temporary lack of faith.

If any other writers out there are feeling weary and discouraged, don’t give up.  Remember the days when the words flow freely, the exhilaration of that brilliant idea, the satisfaction of the completed draft.  And for a little extra inspiration, words from other sources: 

“With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable.”  ~Thomas Foxwell Buxton

“Vitality shows in not only the ability to persist but the ability to start over.”  ~F. Scott Fitzgerald

“Perseverance is the hard work you do after you get tired of doing the hard work you already did.”  ~Newt Gingrich

So, I’ll keep slogging at the rough draft, and then go back in for the revision.  Too late to turn back now.  Isn’t there some Biblical curse against the man who “sets his hand to the plough” and then turns back?  So, the only course is forward, onward and upward, complete draft or bust, and all that.

Happy writing, everybody.

