“Send out more queries! Skirr the country round! Hang those that talk of fear!” (Shakespeare, Macbeth, adapted by Trudy Morgan Cole)

My mind is in disarray, my creative impulses have packed their bags and fled for the sunny south, and it’s so noisy in my head I can barely hear myself think.  But, it’s about time for an update on the status of the writing front, and all in all, I have to report that things are going pretty well.

I love the mangled quote from Macbeth!  I don’t suppose Shakespeare was familiar with the fearful practice of querying agents, but he certainly couldn’t have put it better if he had been!  So far, I have two rejections, polite but pleasant, and five more queries still out there.  The first two, email queries both, came back with the speed of a boomerang – instant non-gratification.  Now we’re engaged in the waiting game –  you know, checking the email every five minutes, worrying that the computer’s busted, and going totally postal if the server is down for five minutes.

I splurged, and bought myself a laser printer to go with my new Mac Notebook.  Amazing – I can print the entire novel in a matter of minutes, rather than making a day of it.  (I know, I know, killing trees with abandon.)  The thing is, I can’t seem to edit effectively on an electronic screen.  So, even though Filling in the Blanks is complete, and the queries are out, I’ve printed off the whole thing and am hunting through it for those sneaky and elusive typos.  Because I can.

In the meantime, I’ve managed to move on.  Gatekeeper is underway.  The characters are beginning to live in my head, and I’ve got all kinds of big ideas for the complete plot renovation that is so badly needed. I’m also doing research for this one, in my own unstructured and haphazard way.  In this case, I’m listening to Classical and Country music, and reading mythology and romance novels.  Swimming North is lurking in the back of my head, occasionally sending signals that it would appreciate a little attention as well, but I am definitely not ready to deal with the philosophical challenges it presents.  Not yet.  But we’re getting there.

Of course, this morning I woke up convinced that all of my books are stupid and I should abandon them and move on.  Maybe even move to a galaxy far, far away, where I can find something productive and meaningful to do with my life that has nothing to do with writing.  As I’m temporarily out of warp drive capable space ships, however, I guess I’ll be staying put for awhile.  And since I’m going to be here, hey, I might as well keep on writing!  Especially since it seems to have become a habit I can’t quit.

To those of you out there who are dealing with self doubt and writerly angst – I wish you a day of confidence and the courage to keep on writing and/or querying, depending on where you are in the process.  For the supremely confident among you, who don’t need any wishes from me, none the less, I’m sending out a wish for your success.  May there be many more books published, and an unlimited supply of people to read them.

(Thanks to Mr. Tennyson for my Blog Title of the day)


